Space Available

These images were recently exhibited at the TCNJ Photo Minor Exhibition. They are from a series I did on strip malls in Ewing, New Jersey for my Photo I class a semester ago. Despite the sagging economy and the fact that many existing strip malls sit nearly empty, new ones are continually being put up, filled with stores and, after a few years, more or less abandoned. I’d always felt that strip malls were kind of sad, a product of the unnatural separation of residential and commercial space characteristic of the suburban landscape I’d grown up in. Through the images I hoped to use this feeling of emptiness to comment on what I take to be a curious economic practice, responsible at least in part for the wasteful lifestyle necessary to survive in suburbia. Each of the images is scanned from a gelatin-silver print made from a photograph taken with a Holga on Kodak Tmax 400 film.

Leave a Reply

