Dream: Medieval MP3 Salesman

I am in a video game similar to Fable 2. I am playing as a character with dark tattered clothes and a dark wizard’s hat. I am sneaking around, practicing climbing, jumping and such. I can scale buildings easily and jump great distances with cat-like precision. Eventually I climb to the top of a tall building and, looking through a knothole in a pine fence, see a fairly large house built on top of the building. It is built in rustic style but incorporates modern, metallic elements and looks like it was made with whatever materials were available. In the yard, which is mostly paved with stones, but also has some grass and a garden, two sorcerers are tending a pot over a fire. It is steaming and bubbling violently, and there are several round windows into the inside which are illuminated by a strange light. One of the sorcerers, a man, is standing by it, stirring it at intervals, while the other, a woman and maybe the man’s wife, is sitting in a sling chair and reading directions.

I watch for a while, enthralled, but begin to feel that I have stayed too long. The female witch stops in the middle of a sentence she is reading, cocks her head and raises her hand, about to say something; “Do you think someone else is up here?” At this I turn around and bolt for the edge of the building. The wall to the outside is now an oversize Utz potato chip bag, and I rip it open and throw myself off the building. I hit the ground and roll after a very long fall and run, trying to find another area in which to loose them. I want to pause the game and collect myself, but I can’t remember what the pause button is on the controller. Finally I think I’ve paused the game by pressing the end button; I am standing in a narrow corridor and I don’t see anything moving. But then, the female sorcerer comes bounding over the horizon, followed closely by the male. I turn to run and try pressing other buttons to pause the game, but I now find myself in a completely different place.

The sun is just setting and the sky is illuminated with orange and magenta. There are several feet of snow on the ground, but the top is packed hard and I can walk on it without sinking in. I am near the edge of a tall cliff, but there is a path that goes along it. I follow the path toward the sunset and meet several strange creatures. First there is a stumpy little thing that tries to bite me, but I just run by it and it seems confused and stops. Next, a small bird hovers at about my eye level and I think it is going to tell me something. When I get close to it though, it disappears in a burst of light. Finally I meet two little dwarves, one with medium length hair who complains that if I cut his hair, it will be too short, and one with very long hair, who tells me that all he wants is to have his hair cut.

Later, I am still on the run from the witches and I am trying to sell some mp3s so I can pay them back for the damages I caused by seeing their cauldron. I am in an urban townhouse with many floors that is in pretty bad condition. I think all the people from my current house live there. I go upstairs to Eric Dale’s room to see if he would like to buy my mp3s. He does, and I go to the pause menu to see how much more money I need to make. I have about 2,000 gold, but I need to make 20,000! I go down the stairs from Eric’s room and see Christie coming up. She looks a little different and I am afraid she is one of the witches in disguise. I leap down the stairs to kick her in the face, but she moves out of the way and says “Ross. What are you doing?” I apologize for trying to kick her and ask what’s up. She asks me if I will put the mp3s on her ipod for her.

One response

  1. My favorite sentences:
    – The wall to the outside is now an oversize Utz potato chip bag, and I rip it open and throw myself off the building.
    – Later, I am still on the run from the witches and I am trying to sell some mp3s so I can pay them back for the damages I caused by seeing their cauldron.

    February 15, 2010 at 1:32 pm

Leave a Reply

