Day 3 – Are you proud to be from whatever country you are from?

This is a tough one. I definitely recognize that I’ve had a lot of opportunities that may not have been available to me if I hadn’t been born in America (and a boy, and white, and straight, and Christian, and not handicapped, etc etc…), so I am thankful for that i guessssssss, but I also see that my privilege has come at the expense of others’, and I don’t feel any more worthy of it than anyone else. I’m generally not a fan of the American government, American capitalism/big business, or the “American Dream,” “American Family Values,” or any of that nonsense. History has seen arrogant white men do some pretty disgusting things to basically everyone else, and I think that despite all the progress we’ve made, this country still has some way to go to escape that tradition.

Leave a Reply

