Day 6 – What are your views on love? Do you think it’s real? Do you think we only experience one love per lifetime? Does everyone have a soul mate?

This is a strange question to me. I think we all (or most of us, at least) have feelings for other beings, some of which we identify as love, and these feelings are real, to the extent that any feelings are. I do not, however, think that love exists in and of itself as some kind of platonic form or whatever. That said, I think that the feeling of love is a very powerful and unique force with great transformative potential, and one that we could definitely do with more of in the world.

As for the bit about one love per lifetime: I don’t believe in predetermined soul mates. I think that the potential for love – romantic or not – exists between any two people (or combination of people, for that matter), and whether that potential is realized depends on infinite chance happenings, the choices we make, and our ideas about ourselves and others. I also see no reason to believe that we cannot love more than one person simultaneously. I would say that I love hundreds of people, each to different extent (I don’t like the idea of measuring love quantitatively, but I can’t think of a better word here) and expressed in a different way. I’d also say that I love all people, but in a general sense, as I obviously haven’t met everybody and cannot feel specific feelings toward everyone.

Leave a Reply

